Results of the 2016 ECOSOC Elections

14 June 2016

On 14 June 2016, the UN General Assembly elected 18 members of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).  Andorra, Azerbaijan, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cameroon, Chad, China, Colombia, Norway, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and Venezuela were elected to serve on ECOSOC from January 2017 through December 2019.

In line with ECOSOC’s regional rotation scheme, these included  four members of the African group, four from the Asia-Pacific group, three from the Eastern European group, three from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, and four from the Western European and Others group.  Notably, each of the regional groups endorsed a number of candidates equal to the number of seats allotted to the region.  

Members of ECOSOC must be elected by a two-thirds majority. In the event of a tie, the Assembly proceeds to a second round of voting restricted to candidates with an equal number of votes. However, in this instance, voting was completed in a single round, as the General Assembly exclusively elected the candidates that were endorsed by their regional groups.  

According to the General Assembly’s rules of procedure, member states are eligible for immediate re-election to ECOSOC following the expiration of their term.  During today’s session, China, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation and United Kingdom were re-elected for an additional term.     

Notably, these elections were the first ECOSOC elections to be held in the summer.  In accordance with General Assembly resolution 68/307, which was adopted in 2014, elections will now be held six months ahead of the start of term in order to allow for a longer transitional period.  

For more information, please visit the UN News Centre