Special ECOSOC Election 2014

10 November 2014

Today the General Assembly held a special election to fill three vacant seats in the Economic and Social Council.  The election was made necessary by a note from the Permanent Representative of Switzerland, in his capacity as chair of the Western European and Others group for the month of September.  The note, which was dated 30 September 2014 , informed the Assembly that Canada, Denmark, and New Zealand would give up their seats in 2015.  These seats would be given to Australia, Finland, and Switzerland, respectively.

Nonetheless, a formal election was held to confirm these appointments.  As a result, Australia will serve on ECOSOC for a single year, from the 1st of January 2015 to the 31st of December 2015.  Finland and Switzerland will serve two year terms, from the 1st of January 2015 until the 31st of December 2016.

Please see below for the results of the voting.   


162 Ballots; 4 Abstentions; 158 Present and Voting

Required 2/3 Majority--106


Finland: 155

Australia: 154

Switzerland: 149

Luxembourg: 1