Results of the 2014 Human Rights Council Elections

 21 October 2014

This morning, the General Assembly held elections to fill fifteen seats on the Human Rights Council for a three year term.  Beginning on the first of January, Albania, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, Congo, El Salvador, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Latvia, Netherlands, Nigeria, Paraguay, Portugal, and Qatar will assume their roles as members of the Council.

Seats in the Council are allotted by regional group, so that the candidates with the greatest number of votes in each group will become members. In order to be elected, candidates for the Council must receive at least 97 votes—a simple majority of the membership of the General Assembly.  In the event of a tie, the Assembly will hold additional rounds of voting, with balloting restricted to the tied candidates. 

This year, the elections were completed in a single round.  See below for an account of the total number of votes received by each member state.    


African Group—Four Available Seats

1 Abstention; 191 Member States Present and Voting

Ghana: 187

Nigeria: 187

Congo: 185

Botswana: 183

Democratic Republic of the Congo: 2

Benin: 2


Asia-Pacific Group—Four Available Seats

0 Abstentions; 192 Member States Present and Voting

India: 162

Indonesia: 152

Bangladesh: 149

Qatar: 142

Thailand: 136

Kuwait: 2

Cambodia: 1

Philippines: 1

Bahrain: 1


Eastern European Group—Two Available Seats

9 Abstentions; 183 Member States Present and Voting

Albania: 176

Latvia: 175

Romania: 3

Lithuania: 1

Czech Republic: 1


Western European and Others Group—Two Available Seats

6 Abstentions; 186 Member States Present and Voting

Portugal: 184

Netherlands: 172

Italy: 1

Greece: 1


Group of Latin American and Caribbean States—Three Available Seats

0 Abstentions; 192 Member States Present and Voting

El Salvador: 151

Bolivia: 144

Paraguay: 139

Costa Rica: 120

Peru: 2


The newly elected members will replace Austria, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Chile, Congo, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kuwait, Peru, Philippines, and Romania.  They will remain on the Council until the 31st of December 2017.