ECOSOC Elections 2014

20 October 2014

     The Economic and Social Council elections for the 2015-2017 term are scheduled to take place on the 29th of October, 2014.  The General Assembly will elect 18 new members of the Economic and Social Council, filling the seats previously occupied by Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Japan, Lesotho, Libya, Nigeria, and Portugal.  The newly elected states will begin their terms on the 1st of January, 2015.

     According to Rule 146 of the General Assembly, member states can be re-elected to ECOSOC immediately following the expiration of their term; thus, some of these states are likely to remain on the Council in 2015.  In particular, as three of the longest-standing members of ECOSOC, France, Germany, and Japan may seek to renew their seats for another term. 

     However, in the Western European and Others Group, some of the remaining members will exchange seats as part of agreements within the regional group. In a note dated 30 September 2014 , WEOG president for September Paul Seger (Switzerland) announced the following changes:


  • Canada will give up its seat to Australia in January 2015  
  • Denmark will give up its seat to Finland in January 2015  
  • New Zealand will give up its seat to Switzerland in January 2015


Without these agreements, Canada would have remained on the council until the 31st of December 2015; Denmark and New Zealand would have continued their membership until the end of 2016.