Security Council Elections for the 2015-17 Term

 30 September 2014

On the 16th of October 2014 the General Assembly will elect five nonpermanent members to the Security Council for the 2015-2017 term. The newly elected members will replace Argentina, Rwanda, the Republic of Korea, Australia, and Luxembourg, whose terms will end this year.

The known candidates from each region are listed below:

  • Angola (African Group)
  • Malaysia (Asia-Pacific Group)
  • New Zealand (WEOG)
  • Spain (WEOG)
  • Turkey (WEOG)
  • Venezuela (GRULAC)

With only one known candidate each from the Africa, Latin America and Caribbean, and Asia-Pacific groups, it is anticipated that Angola, Venezuela, and Malaysia will be elected to the Security Council without contest.  However, three states from the Western European group (New Zealand, Spain, and Turkey) have announced their interest in Western Europe’s two available seats. 

The Eastern European Group’s one seat will not be open for election until next year, when Lithuania’s term ends. 

For more information about this year's candidates and Security Council election procedures, please view Security Council Report's latest Special Research Report.